Purchase CD

Mike Fahie - trombone

John McNeil - trumpet

Ethan Iverson - piano

Joe Martin - bass

Billy Hart - drums

Destiny Records

Recorded at Sear Sound NYC

Released October, 2017

Nate Chinen (NPR/WBGO): "Plainsong... is both breezily casual and serious business"

Giovanni Russonello (NYT): "The tunes are harmonically snaked and rhythmically relentless; they highlight the horn players' teasing interplay, and keep the stellar rhythm section... on the move."

Mike Fahie - trombone

Bill McHenry - tenor saxophone

Ben Monder - guitar

Ben Street - bass

Billy Hart - drums

Brooklyn Jazz Underground Records

Recorded at ParkWest Studios NYC

Released April, 2010

"... sinuously modern compositions ..." Nate Chinen, New York Times

"Mike Fahie's debut CD... features an explosive and exploratory ensemble. ...  There is so much to enjoy on this program, starting with the impressive original compositions and intelligent arrangements. ... After hearing Mike Fahie as a member of trombone sections on several fine recordings, it's such a treat to hear his music and playing on "Anima".  This is the sort of program that just gets better with each listen." Richard B. Kamins - Step Tempest

"A delightfully hard to pin down eclectic album, there’s something here for the pickiest contemporary jazzbo as well as the casual groover just looking for some new kicks.  Highly creative throughout, the sure footed playing is sure to make a positive impression no matter what your jazz stripe.  Check it out." Chris Spector, Midwest Record

Listen to some samples:

Village Greene - Mike Fahie
00:00 / 00:00
June With John - Mike Fahie
00:00 / 00:00
Seven Sisters - Mike Fahie
00:00 / 00:00

Listen to some samples of the MFJO:

I Loves You Porgy - Mike Fahie Jazz Orchestra
00:00 / 00:00

Big Band Arrangement

After A Dancer - Mike Fahie Jazz Orchestra
00:00 / 00:00

Original Composition

Chopin Prelude - Mike Fahie Jazz Orchestra
00:00 / 00:00

Urban(e) arrangement

Selected Discography

Darcy James Argue's Secret Society

Real Enemies

Grammy & Juno Nominee

Brooklyn Babylon

Grammy & Juno Nominee

Infernal Machines

Grammy & Juno Nominee

Pedro Giraudo


El Viaje



Gramercy Brass Orchestra

of New York

Emilio Solla Tango Jazz Orchestra

Dan Pugach Nonet

Andrew Rathbun

Large Ensemble

Brubeck - Bold and Brassy


featuring Grammy nominated

arrangement "La Novena"

Plus One

featuring Grammy-nominated song "Jolene"

Atwood Suites

Juno nominee

Paul Carlon Octet

La Rumba is a Lovesome Thing

Roots Propaganda

Other Tongues

Gregorio Uribe Big Band

Juan Andres Ospina

Morgan James

Cumbia Universal



Reckless Abandon

© 2017 by Mike Fahie

  • Instagram
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon